BEFORE THE DIRECTOR OF THE
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BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR
 STATE OF CALIFORNIA
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DECISION
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IT IS SO ORDERED this 7 day of %ﬂ , 2022.
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GRACEARUPO RODRIGUEZ
Assistant Deputy Director
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BEFORE THE
BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of the Accusation Against:

ANGEL ALONSO aka ANGEL ALONSO PARRA dba ANAHEIM
SMOG

Automotive Repair Dealer Registration No. ARD 288993
Smog Check, Test Only, Station License No. TC 288993,

and
ANGEL ALONSO PARRA
Smog Check Inspector License No. EO 638929,
Respondents
Agency Case No. 79/20-9348

OAH No. 2021090429

- PROPOSED DECISION

Marion 1. Vomhof, Administrative Law Judge, Office of Administrative Hearings,

State of California, heard this matter by videoconference on May 11, 2022,




Craig Menchin, Deputy Attorney General, Department of Justice, State of
California, represented complainant Patrick Dorais, Chief, Bureau of Automotive Repair

(bureau), Department of Consurer Affairs,

William D. Ferreira, Attorney, Automotive Defense Specialists, represented
respondent Angel Alonso aka Angel Alonso Parra dba Anaheim Smog and Angel

Alonso Parra, who was assisted by a court-certified Spanish-language interpreter.

Oral and documentary evidence was received. The record was closed, and the

matter was submitted for decision on May 11, 2022,
SUMMARY

Complainant sought discipline of Mr. Parra’s automotive repair dealer
registration, smog only testing station license, and smog inspector license based on
allegations that respondent made untrue and misleading statements, engaged in
dishonesty or deceit or fraud, and failed to comply with the Automotive Repair Act
(ARA) and the Motor Vehicle Inspection Program, when he fraudulently docurnented
and charged a fee for 36 smog check inspections that were not issued or received by

the customers.

Complainant failed to sustain its burden of proof regarding the allegations of
fraud and engaging in dishonesty or deceif or fraud. Complainant did sustain its
burden regarding respondent’s making untrue and misleading statements and
violating the ARA and Motor Vehicle Inspection Program. Public protection will be
afforded by placing respondent’s Automotive Repair Station registration, Smog Check,

Test Only, Station license, and smog check inspector license on probation for two




years with appropriate terms and conditions. Additionally, Mr. Parra shall pay

investigation and prosecution costs of $2,000.

FACTUAL FINDINGS

Jurisdictional Matters

1. On January 21, 2016, the bureau issued Smog Check Inspector License
No. EO 638929 to respondent. The license will expire on May 31, 2022, unless renewed.,
On November 20, 2017, the bureau issued Automotive Repair Dealer (ARD)
Registration No. ARD 288993 to respondent. The registration will expire on November
30, 2022, unless renewed. On January 9, 2018, the bureau issued Smog Check, Test
Only, Station License No. TC 288993 to respondent. The license will expire on
November 30, 2022, unless renewed. On September 16, 2020, the bureau certified
Anaheim Smog (or station) as a STAR Station. The certification will remain active unless
the ARD registration and/or Smog Check, Test Only, Station license is revoked,

cancelled, becomes delinquent or certification is invalidated,

2. On July 12, 2021, complainant signed the accusation in his official
capacity. The accusation alleged that respondent’s registration and licenses are subject
to discipline because he made untrue or misleading statements, engaged in
dishonesty or deceit or fraud, failed to comply with the ARA, and failed to comply with
regulations pursuant to the Motor Vehicle Inspection Act, when he fraudulently
documented and charged a fee for a smog check certificate that was not issued or

received by the customer.

3. As a disciplinary consideration, the accusation alleged that on July 15,

2019, the bureau issued respondent Administrative Citation #C2019-1684 because




respondent inspected and certified a bureau vehicle documented to fail a properly
performed smog check inspection. Respondent was advised that future violations of
the ARA may result in disciplinary action, which could jeopardize his registration and

smog station license.

There is no history of discipline against respondent’s licenses or registration. A

citation issued by the bureau is not a disciplinary action.
California’s Smog Check Program

4, California’s smog check program is designed and intended to reduce air
pollution by identifying and requiring repair of polluting motor vehicles. The smog
check technician performs visual and functional tests of the vehicle using either the
BAR97 emissions inspection system (EIS) or the BAR-On Board Inspection System
(OIS), depending on the vehicle's age. The OIS is required when inspecting most
model-year 2000 and newer gasoline and hybrid vehicles and most 1998 and newer
diesel vehicles. The OIS system consists of a certified Data Acquisition Device (DAD),
computer, bar code scanner, and printer. The DAD is an On-Board Diagnostic (OBD)
scan tool that connects between the OIS computer and the vehicle’s Diagnostic Link
Connector {DLC). The OIS software requires continuous internet connection when
performing a smog check inspection to enable the OIS software to communicate with
the bureau’s central database. The bar code scanner is used to input technician
information, the vehicles identification number (VIN), and Department of Motor
Vehicles (DMV) renewal information. The printer provides a Vehicle Inspection Report
(VIR), which is a physical record of the test results and shows the Certificate of

Compliance control number for passing vehicles.




If the vehicle passes the visual and functional, EIS or OIS, tests, it passes the
overall inspection, and the smog check results are transmitted electronicélly to the
Vehicle Information Database (VID). The database contains information such as

‘registration data, emissions control system data, smog check history, vehicle profiling
data, station and technician data, and certificate data. Each certificate of compliance
has a unique control number and can be tracked to determine which smog station
issued it and to which vehicle it was issued. Both the DMV and the bureau can access
information stored in the database. In particular, the bureau can access the database
to view test data on smog inspections performed at a smog station or retrieve and

print records for a particular smog inspection.

The smog check technician must sign the VIR under penalty of perjury to
indicate that the inspection was done within bureau guidelines. Smog check stations
are required by law to maintain a copy of the VIR along with a copy of the repair
invoice for three years. Licensed smog check technicians are the only persons
authorized by the bureau to perform official inspections. They are issued a personal
access code and a license which are used to gain access to the inspection system to
perform smog check inspections. Unauthorized use of another technician’s access

code or license is prohibited.
The Bureau's Investigation

MARC ORTEGA’S INVESTIGATION REPORT, INSPECTION REPORTS, AND

TESTIMONY

5. Marc Ortega is employed by the bureau as a Program Representative IL.
The following is a summary of his investigation report, inspection reports, and

testimony.




6. On June 14, 2019, the bureau electronically monitored the smog check
activity at the station and observed “anomalies” in the data that was transmitted. On
June 14, 2019, Mr. Ortega, Mark Casillas, a Program Representative III, and Nicholas
Magafia, a Program Representative II, performed a station inspection. When they
arrived at the station, they observed smog technician Pedro Fonseca conducting a
smog test on a 2007 Mini Cooper, using an electronic defeat device. An electronic
defeat device simulates smog check data for a vehicle that does not meet smog

requirements.

7. On June 21, 2019, a Proactive Hearing Conference was held at the
station, with respondent, Mr. Fonseca, Mr. Ortega, and Mr. Casillas, participating. The
conference was held to make respondent aware of violations found during a review of
smog check data and the subsequent station inspection. Respondent was advised that
several certificates of compliance were issued by the station with the aid of an
electronic defeat device, in violation of Health and Safety Code section 44012,
Respondent was advised that he and all employees must follow the current Smog
Check Manual énd Smog Check Reference Guide along with all laws and regulations
pertaining to the ARA. Respondent was advised that this conference was held to
obtain-future voluntary compliance and future violations of the ARA may result in

disciplinary action.

8. On June 26, 2019, Mr. Ortega and Mr. Casillas performed a station
inspection and reviewed the smog check equipment. The inspectors advised

respondent and Mr. Fonseca to follow all laws and regulations.

9. On December 04, 2019, in response to anomalies in the data transmitted
during a smog check inspection, Mr. Casillas and Mr, Magafia performed a station

inspection. Respondent was not able to provide the inspectors with invoices for the




test period of November 20, 2019, through November 22, 2019. The inspectors
advised Mr. Fonseca to perform smog check inspections in accordance with laws,

regulations, and the Smog Check Inspection Manual.

10.  On April 8, 2020, Mr. Ortega visited Anaheim Smog in response to an
automatic BAR97 lockout due to a “cabinet/disk drive tamper.” Mr. Fonseca provided a

repair invoice for the BAR97; Mr. Ortega cleared the lockout.

11, On May 4, 2020, in response to an automatic (DAD) lockout, Mr. Ortega
and Mr. Casillas performed a station inspection. In his inspection report, Mr. Qrtega
wrote: "Record review found multiple invoices indicating ‘retest’ in estimate box and in
the price description area leading to false and misleading records, invoice for 2005
Chevy Express 8D05873 and invoice for 2012 Honda Civic 7XAT715 do not contain
authorization.” Mr. Ortega (or one of the inspectors) took photographs of these
invoices and VIRs for these two vehicles. The inspectors advised respondent and Mr,
Fonseca to follow all laws and regulations and perform all smog check inspections

thoroughly and completely.

12, On lune 3, 2020, in response to an automatic BAR97 lockout, Mr. Ortega
and Mr. Casillas visited the station. They found the BAR97 malfunctioning and advised
respondent to contact the bureau office to reschedule the station inspection after the

BAR97 had been repaired,

13.  OnJune 17, 2020, Mr. Magafia and Ian Evans, Program Representative II,
performed a follow-up inspection at the station. They noted the following: the BAR97
dynamometer failed calibration and required service; several VIRs were not signed by

the smog check inspector; several invoices lacked customer information; invoice




pricing was unclear; and one invoice reflected a charge for a certificate of compliance

that was not issued.

14, | On August 4, 2020, in response to an automatic BAR97 lockout, Mr.
Ortega and Mr. Magafia visited the station. The inspectors advised respondent that
numerous invoices and estimate violations were found. The inspectors advised
respondent and Mr. Fonseca that all vehicles are to be inspected thoroughly and
accurately, and that future violations and failure to comply with laws and regulations

may result in disciplinary action.

16.  On November 19, 2020, Mr. Ortega and Mr. Magafia visited the station.
In his inspection report, Mr. Ortega wrote: “Alonso stated the station's invoices show
the dollar amounts charged by Anaheim Smog and is the same amount paid by the
customers to Anaheim Smog, including all Anaheim Smog invoices with attached VIR

provided by Alonso for dates June 22, 2020, through July 22, 2020."

17. At the hearing, Mr. Ortega stated that a customer must receive an
itemized estimate before the work begins. The invoices he reviewed with the words
“retest” and no dollar amounts listed were “a problem” because it is “not clear what a

customer is going to get.” If a certificate is issued, the cost is $8.25 for the certificate.

In reviewing all invoices respondent provided, Mr. Ortega found 36 invoices
(Exhibits 17 through 52) that listed an estimate of $41.75 for a smog inspection and
$8.25 for a certificate, for a total of $50.00. Attached to each invoice was a VIR,
indicating the vehicle did not pass inspection, so a certificate was not issued. Mr.
Fonseca conducted all smog inspections in this group of invoices. Mr. Ortega asked
respondent if the records reflected the amount the customer paid, and he said, “Yes.”

Respondent did not provide other documents that showed the customer paid




anything different. Respondent did not say that the certificate fee of $8.25 was not

charged if a vehicle failed the inspection.

Respondent’s station uses a three-part form. The pink copy is the estimate or
work order given to the customer, the yellow copy becomes the invoice for the
customer, and the white copy stays with the station. The total on the invoice should be

$41.75 if the vehicle failed inspection.

On cross-examination, Mr. Ortega said that respondent provided him with
about 30 days of records. Mr. Ortega did not recall the total number of invoices
respondent provided but he [Mr. Ortega] pulled about 36 invoices from those records
“that had issues.” When he asked respondent what “the invoices” reflected, he [Mr.
Ortega] was asking about “all” the invoices. He did not ask respondent if he charged
for certificates that were not issued. Respondent did not say that he charged $8.25

when a certificate was not issued.

Mr. Ortega was shown an invoice for a customer named J.C. (Exhibit 17), which
showed an estimate of $41.75 for a smog inspection and $8.25 for a certificate, for a
total of $50.00. Attached to the estimate was a VIR reflecting that J.C.’s vehicle failed
the smog inspection. Mr. Ortega acknowledged that he had no information that J.C.
actually paid $50. When asked how he knew that these 36 customers paid $50.00
rather than $41.75, Mr. Ortega responded, "from respondent’s statement.” Mr, Ortega

testified that his response is the same for all invoices (Exhibits 17 through 52).
Respondent’s Testimony

18.  Respondent has been performing smog inspections for about four years.
The July 2019 citation issued to the station is the only discipline he received from the

bureau. Respondent has never been disciplined personally as a smog inspector. (As




stated in Factual Finding No. 3, citations issued by the bureau are not disciplinary

actions.)

Mr. Ortega asked him for "a months’ worth” of invoices. Respondent estimated
his shop completes 15 to 25 inspections per day, and‘estimated he gave Mr. Ortega
about 400 to 500 invoices for the{ one-month period. Mr. Ortega showed respondent
two or three invoices and asked what he charges his clients. Respondent said that he
charges $41.75 for the inspection, and $8.25 for a certificate only if they pass
inspection. He sometimes accepts $41.75 for the inspection and the certificate when a
vehicle passes inspection, and the customer does not pay the additional $8.25. He
understands that it is illegal to charge the $8.25 if a vehicle fails inspection. If a vehicle
fails inspection, he gives his customers 30 days to repair their vehicle and return for a
free second test. The invoices read “retest” only because there is no charge unless the

vehicle passes, and then the customer is charged $8.25 for a certificate.

Respondent was shown two invoices that showed the same vehicle and the VIRs
showed the vehicles were inspected at the same time. He said Mr. Fonseca brought a
friend to the shop to help fill out paperwork, and the friend erroneously completed the
estimates/invoices for Mr. Fonseca. He believes the friend’s name was "Carlos.”
Respondent did not pay Carlos and he does not know the arrangement between Mr.

Fonseca and Carlos. Carlos had no access to other paperwork.

Mr. Ortega asked him how he charged his customers, and respondent told Mr.
Ortega that he charged $41.75 when a vehicle did not pass smog inspection. He heard
Mr. Ortega’s testimony that he (respondent) said all invoices were correct, respondent
does not know why Mr. Ortega said tklis. Respondent accepts cash only, no checks or
credit cards. He keeps track of money the station receives. He has a record when he

was paid $41.75. When asked why he did not submit those records, he said, "if you

10




need evidence, I have records to show what was charged on that day.” He keeps track

of what customers pay, and if they pay $41.75, he records $41.75.
Costs of Investigation and Prosecution

19.  Complainant sought recovery of investigation costs of $2,479.15, and

prosecution costs of $10,596.25, for a total of $13,075.40.

20.  Marc Ortega, Program Representative II, signed a declaration with
attached Case Hours and Costs Spreadsheets that listed the time he spent between
August 5, 2020, and October 21, 2020, performing “Review” (9 hours) and “Report
Writing” (12 hours) on this matter. The total time he spent was 21 hours and at the
hourly rate of $89.37, for a total of $1,876.77. The evidence of investigative costs
complied with California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 1042, subdivision (b)(1),

and the $1,876.77 costs requested were reasonable,

21, Mark Casillas, Program Representative IIl, signed a declaration with
attached Case Hours and Costs Spreadsheets that listed the time he spent between
August 4, 2020, and October 23, 2020, performing “Case Review” (4.25 hours) and
"Documents/Evidence” (2 hours} on this matter. The total time he spent was 6,25 hours
and at the hourly rate of $96.38, for a total of $602.38, The evidence of investigative
costs complied with California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 1042, subdivision

(b)(1), and the $602.38 costs requested were reasonable.

22.  The Deputy Attorney General who prosecuted the case executed a
declaration, dated May 11, 2022, requesting prosecution costs of $10,596.25 through
May 10, 2022. Attached to his declaration was a document entitled “Matter Time
Activity by Professional Type,” that identified the tasks performed, the time spent on
each task, and the hourly rate of the persons performing the tasks through May 10,

11
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2022. The declaration and the attachment seeking prosecution costs of $10,596.25
complied with the requirements of California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 1042,

subdivision {b){2), and those prosecution costs were reasonable,
Closing Arguments
COMPLAINANT

23.  Complainant argued that the investigators requested 36 invoices for
certificates that were not issued. Every invoice shows $41.75 plus $8.25 which equals
$50; the customers paid $8.25 even if no certificate was issued, Mr, Ortega showed
respondent two or three actual invoices and asked if the amounts reflected was the
amount the customer paid, and respondent said, “Yes.” Respondent claims Mr. Ortega
now says something different. If in fact respondent did not charge the $8.25, he could
have or would haverprovided proof and this matter could have been resolved.
Respondent is not credible. Cbmplainant requests revocation of respondent’s license;

or at the very least, probation.
RESPONDENT

25.  Respondent asserted that it is okay to say that he was anything but a
model licensee, but this is not fraud. Mr. Ortega testified that the sble evidence that
respondent’s customers paid the $8.25 when their vehicle had failed inspection was
respondent’s statement. Mr. Ortega took about 400 invoices and asked respondent if
these accurately reflected what the customers paid. He then pulled 36 of these
invoices and said these customers were charged $8.25 after their vehicle failed
inspection. If a vehicle fails inspection, the $8.25 cannot be charged. Respondent said
he fills the invoices out completely before he begins work and has the customers sign

them. If the vehicle does not pass inspection, the customers are not charged the $8.25.

12
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Respondent further argued that seven of the eight causes for discipline require
evidence of fraud. Fraud requires intentional willful conduct. The eighth cause alleges
false and misleading conduct. There is no allegation that respondent did not charge
for the certificates, the only allegation is that he charged $8.25 when a vehicle did not
pass inspection. There is no customer complaint, no undercover work, Respondent
asserted that complainant failed to sustain its burden and the accusation should be

dismissed.

LEGAL CONCLUSIONS

1. The main purpose of administrative disciplinary proceedings is to protect
the public through the prevention of future harm and the improvement and
rehabilitation of the licensee. (Ettinger v. Board of Medical Quality Assurance (1982)
135 Cal.App.3d 853, 856.

2. "Protection of the public shall be the highest priority for the Bureau of
Automotive Repair in exercising its licensing, regulatory, and disciplinary functions.
Whenever the protection of the public is inconsistent with other interests sought to be
promoted, the protection of the public shall be paramount.” (Bus. & Prof. Code, §

9880.3.)

Burden and Standard of Proof

3. Complainant bears the burden of proof of establishing that the charges
in the accusation are true. (Martin v. State Personnef Board (1972) 26 Cal.App.3d 573,
583.)

13
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4, The standard of proof in a proceeding to discipline a smog check
inspector license, a smog check station license, or an automotive repair dealer
registration is the preponderance of the evidence. Imports Performance v. Department
of Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Automotive Repair (2011} 201 Cal.App.4th 911, 916-
918; Evid. Code, § 115.)

5. “Preponderance of the evidence means evidence that has more
convincing force than that opposed to it.'[Citations.]" (Glage v. Hawes Firearms
Company (1990} 226 Cal.App.3d 314, 324-325.) “The sole focus of the legal definition
of 'preponderance’ in the phrase ‘preponderance of the evidence' is on the guality of
the evidence. The guantity of the evidence presented by each side is irrelevant.” (Jbid,
italics in original.) "If the evidence is so evenly balanced that you are unable to say that
the evidence on either side of an issue preponderates, your finding on that issue must
be against the party who had the burden of proving it [citation].” (People v. Mabini
(2001) 92 Cal.App.4th 654, 663.)

6. In a disciplinary proceeding, the burden of proof is on respondent to
produce positive evidence of rehabilitation. (fpstein v. California Horse Racing Board

(1963) 222 CaI.App.Zd 831,842-848.)
Relevant Code Sections

7. Business and Professions Code section 9884.7 provides in part:

(a) The director, where the automotive repair dealer cannot
show there was a bona fide error, may deny, suspend,
revoke, or place on probation the registration of an
automotive repair dealer for any of the following acts or

omissions related to the conduct of the business of the

14
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automotive repair dealer, which are done by the automotive
repair dealer or any automotive technician, employee,

partner, officer, or member of the automotive repair dealer.

(1)} Making or authorizing in any manner or by any means
whatever any statement written or oral which is untrue or
misleading, and which is known, or which by the exercise of
reasonable care should be known, to be untrue or

misleading.

[(17...[M

{(4) Any other conduct that constitutes fraud.
(... |

(6) Failure in any material respect to comply with the
provisions of this chapter or regulations adopted pursuant

to it.
Health and Safety Code section 44072.2 states in part;

The director may suspend, revoke, or take other disciplinary
action against a license as provided in this article if the
licensee, or any partner, officer, or director thereof, does

any of the following:

(Mm...Mm

(c) Violates any of the regulations adopted by the director

pursuant to this chapter.

15




(d) Commits any act involving disho'nesty, fraud, or deceit

whereby another is injured.

Relevant Regulations

states:

10.

California Code of Regulations, title 16, section 3373, states:

No automotive repair dealer or individual in charge shall, in
filling out an estimate, invoice, or work order, or record
required to be maintained by section 3340.15(e) of this
chapter, withhold therefrom or insert therein any statement
or information which will cause any such document to be
false 6r misleading, or where the tendency or effect thereby
would be to mislead or deceive customers, prospective

customers, or the public.

California Code of Regulations, title 16, section 3340.15, subdivision (e)

The station shall make, keep secure, and have available for
inspection on request of the bureau, or its representative,
legible records showing the station's transactions as a
licensee for a period of not less than three years after
completion of any transaction to which the records refer. All
records.shall be open for reasonable inspection and/or
reproduction by the bureau or its representative. Station

records required to be maintained shall include copies of:

16




(1) All certificates of compliance and certificates of

noncompliance in stock and/or issued,

{2) Repair orders relating to the inspection and repair

activities, and

(3) Vehicle inspection reports generated either manually or

by the emissions inspection system.

The above listed station records shall be maintained in such
a manner that the records for each transaction are kept
together, so as to facilitate access to those records by the
bureau or its representative. In this regard, the second copy
of an issued certificate shall be attached to the final invoice

record.
Case Law Regarding Fraud

11. A cause of action for fraud requires the following elements: Ma
knowingly false representation by the defendant; (2) an intent to deceive or induce
reliance; (3) justifiable reliance by the plaintiff; and (4) resulting damages. ( Hasso v.

Hapke (2014) 227 Cal. App.4th 107, 127, citations omitted.)

12.  All the elements must be present in order for fraud to be found. There is
no absolute or fixed rule for determining what facts will constitute fraud; whether it is
found depends upon the particular facts of the case under inquiry. Fraud may be
proved by direct evidence, or it may be inferred from all of the circumstances in the

case, (Ach v. Finkelstein (1968) 264 Cal.App.2d 667, 674-675.)

17
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13, Inan appeal from the decision issued in an administrative proceeding
regarding a private investigator’s license, the appellate court explained “[flraud
embraces multifarious means whereby one person gains an advantage over another
and means in effect bad faith, dishonesty or overreaching. ... It is a generic term
which embraces all the multifarious means which human ingenuity can devise and are
resorted to by one individual to:get an advantage over another. No definite and
invariable rule can be laid down as a general proposition defining fraud, as it includes
all surprise, trick, cunning, dissembling and unfair ways by which another is cheated.’
[Citations.]” (Wayne v. Bureau of Private Investigators and Adjusters, Department of

Professional and Vocational Standards (1962} 201 Cal.App.2d 427, 437-438.)
Responsibility for Conduct of Employees

14.  The law is well established that licensees who elect to operate their
businesses through employees are responsible to the licensing authority for the
conduct of their employees. (Ford Dealers Assn. v. Department of Motor
Vehicles (1982) 32 Cal3d 347, 360.) This rule is consistent with the law governing
principal-agent liability contained in Civil Code section 2330 that “[a]n agent
represents his principal for all purposes within the scope of his actual or ostensibie
authority. .. ." It is also consistent with the doctrine of respondeat superior codified in
Civil Code section 2338, which provides that "a principal is responsible to third persons
for the negligence of his agent in the transaction of the business of the agency,
including wrongful acts committéd by such agent in and as a part of the transaction

of such business, and for his willful omission to fulfill the obligations of the principal.”

18
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Evaluation of Causes for Discipline
FIRST CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE - UNTRUE OR MISLEADING STATEMENTS

12, Cause does not exist to impose discipline against respondent’s
registration under Business and Professions Code section 9884.7, subdivision {(a)(1).
Complainant established by a preponderance of the evidence that respondent
documented a fee for a smog check certificate that was not issued or received by the
customer. However, complainant failed to establish that respondent charged this fee.
Respondent testified that customers were not charged and did not pay $8.25 for a
certificate when their vehicle failed inspection. No persuasive evidence was provided
to refute this testimony. No evidence was provided that any customer actually paid the

$8.25 when their vehicle failed to pass inspection.
SECOND CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE — FRAUD

13.  Cause does not exist to impose discipline against respondent’s
registration under Business and Professions Code section 9884.7, subdivision {a)(4).
Complainant failed to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that respondent
fraudulently documented and charged a fee for a smog check certificate that was not

issued or received by the customer.

Thus, complainant failed to establish that respondent’s actions were fraudulent.
Fraud is never presumed, and the burden of proving it rests on the party who asserts

it. (Code Civ. Proc,, § 1963; Dorn v. Pichinino (1951) 105 Cal.App.2d 796, 801.)

19
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THIRD CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE - FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THE AUTOMOTIVE

REPAIR ACT

19.  Cause exists to impose discipline against respondent's registration under
Business and Professions Code section 9884.7, subdivision (a}(6), for failure to comply |
with the Automotive Repair Act. Complaint establis;hed by preponderance of the
evidence that respondent continued to violate laws despite being admonished.
Bureau's investigation of respondent’s station began when they observed "anomalies”
in the data being transmitrted, which led to 11 visits to respondent’s station between
June 2019, and November 2020. The following are samples of the bureau’s station

inspection reports:

June 14, 2019 - Bureau representatives observed Mr. Fonseca using an
electronic defeat device and advised respondent that several certificates had been
issued with the aid of this device, in violation of Health and Safety Code section 44012.
A proactive hearing conference was held with respondent and Mr. Fonseca on June 21,
2019, Respondent was advised that he and his employees must follow the Smog Check
Manual, the Smog Check Reference Guide, and laws and regulations pertaining to the

ARA.

December 4, 2019 - During a station inspection, respondent was not able to
provide invoices for the test period of November 20, 2019, through November 22,
2019. Mr. Fonseca was advised to perform smog check inspections in accordance with

laws, regulations, and the Smog Check Inspection Manual.

May 4, 2020 —In response to an automatic DAD lockout, a review of station
records found multiple invoices indicating “retest” with no price description, and two

invoices that did not contain authorizations. Respondent and Mr. Fonseca were
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advised to follow all laws and regulations and perform smog inspections thoroughly

and completely.

June 3, 2020 - In response to an automatic BAR97 lockout, Mr, Ortega visited
the station and found the BAR97 malfunctioning. He advised respondent to schedule a

station inspection after the BAR97 had been repaired.

June 17, 2020 - Bureau representatives performed a follow-up inspection at the
station. They found the BAR97 dynamometer failed calibration and required service;
several VIRs were not signed, several invoices lacked customer information; invoice

pricing was unclear.

Complainant failed to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that
respondent fraudulently documented and charged a fee for a smog check certificate

that was not issued or received by the customer.

FOURTH CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE - FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH REGULATIONS

PURSUANT TO THE MOTOR VEHICLE INSPECTION

20.  Cause exists to impose discipline against respondent’s station license
pursuant to Health and Safety Code section 44072.2, subdivision (c), because

respondent failed to comply with California Code of Regulations, Title 16, section 3373.

Section 3373 provides that in filling out an estimate, invoice, or work order, a
licensee shall not withhold or insert information which will cause the document to be
false or misleading. Each of the 36 invoices pulled by the bureau reflected a total cost
of $50 and did not reflect that the $8.25 certificate fee was not charged or paid
because the vehicle had failed inspection. This failure to accurately reflect what the

customer was charged and what was paid had the tendency or effect of misieading the
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customer. Respondent testified that customers were not charged and did not pay the
$8.25 for a certificate when their vehicle failed inspection. No evidence was provided
to refute this testimony. No evidence was provided that any customer paid the $8.25

when their vehicle failed to pass inspection.

Complainant failed to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that
respondent fraudulently documented and charged a fee for a smog check certificate

that was not issued or received by the customer.
FIFTH CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE — DISHONESTY, FRAUD, OR DECEIT

22.  Cause does not exist to discipline respondent’s station license pursuant
to Health and Safety Code section 44072.2, subdivision (d), because complainant failed
to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that respondent committed any act

involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit whereby another was injured.

Each of the 36 invoices pulled by the bureau reflected a total cost of $50 -
$41.75 for inspection and $8.25 for a certificate but did not reflect that the $8.25
certificate fee was not charged or paid because the vehicle had failed inspection.
Respondent testified that customers were not charged and did not pay the $8.25 for a
certificate when their vehicle failed inspection. No evidence was provided to refute this
tesﬁmony. No persuasive evidence was provided that any customer paid the $8.25

when their vehicle failed to pass inspection.
SIXTH CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE — DISHONESTY, FRAUD, OR DECEIT

23.  Cause does not exist to discipline respondent’s smog check inspector

license pursuant to Health and Safety Code section 44072.2, subdivision {d), because
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complainant failed to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that respondent

committed any act involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit whereby another was injured.

Each of the 36 invoices pulled by the bureau reflected a total cost of $50 -
$41.75 for inspection and $8.25 for a certificate but did not reflect that the $8.25
certificate fee was not charged or paid because the vehicle had failed inspection.
Respondent testified that customers were not charged and did not pay the $8.25 for a
certificate when their vehicle failed inspection. No evidence was provided to refute this
testimony, No evidence was provided that any customer paid the $8.25 when their

vehicle failed to pass inspection.

Complainant failed to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that
respondent fraudulently documented and charged a fee for a smog check certificate

that was not issued or received by the customer.

SEVENTH CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE - FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH REGULATIONS

PURSUANT TO THE MOTOR VEHICLE INSPECTION PROGRAM

24, Cause exists to impose discipline against respondent’s smog inspector
license pursuant to Health and Safety Code section 44072.2, subdivision (c), because

respondent failed to comply with California Code of Regulations, Title 16, section 3373.

Section 3373 provides that in filling out an estimate, invoice, or work order, a
licensee shall not withhold or insert information which will cause the document to be
false or misleading. Each of the 36 invoices pulled by the bureau reflected a total cost
of $50 and did not reflect that the $8.25 certificate fee was not charged or paid
because the ve.hicle had failed inspection. This failure to accurately reflect what the
customer was charged and what was paid had the tendency or effect of misleading the

customer. Respondent testified that customers were not charged and did not pay the
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$8.25 for a certificate when their vehicle failed inspection. No persuasive evidence was

provided to refute this testimony. No evidence was provided that any customer paid

the $8.25 when their vehicle failed to pass inspection.

Complainant failed to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that

respondent fraudulently documented and charged a fee for a smog check certificate

that was not issued or received by the customer.

Authority Regarding Appropriate Level of Discipline

25.

26,

California Code of Regulations, title 16, section 3395.4, provides:

In reaching a decision on a disciplinary action under the
Administrative Procedure Act (Government Code Section
11400 et seq.), including formal hearings conducted by the
Office of Administrative Hearings, the Bureau

of Automotive Repair shall consider the disciplinary
guidelines entitléd "Guidelines for Disciplinary Orders and
Terms of Probation” [Rev. June 2021] which are hereby
incorporated by reference. The “Guidelines for Disciplinary
Orders and Terms of Probation” are advisory, Deviation
from these guidelines and orders, including the standard
terms of probation, is appropriate where the Bureau

of Automotive Repair in its sole discretion determines that

the facts of the particular case warrant such deviation.

The guidelines state that factors in aggravation should be considered

when determining the appropriate level of discipline, including: prior warnings and

office conferences, history of citations or formal disciplinary action; failure to permit
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inspection of records; abuse of mechanic’s liens; attempts to intimidate consumers;
negligent or willful improper repair work that endangers a consumer; whether an
unlawful act was part of a pattern or practice; failure to comply with a request for
corrective action/retraining; current probation for improper acts; failure to successfully
complete a prior period of probation; failure to pay a court judgment to a victim;
violation of previous court order(s); and any other conduct which constitutes fraud or

gross negligence.

27.  The guidelines also provide that the following factors in mitigation
should be considered: evidence that respondent implemented suggested resolutions
of a consumer complaint or paid restitution or made corrective repair of a consumer’s
vehicle; voluntary participation in retraining; voluntary purchase of proper diagnostic
equipment and manuals; evidence of a temporary medical condition that prevented
respondent from exercising supervision and control over employees or others, which
led to the wrongdoing; absence of any prior discipline; absence of any loss or damage
to consumers; evidence that the violation was not part of a pattern or practice;
evidence that the shop owner has taken specific steps to minimize recurrence;
resolution of consumer complaints with a subsequent change in business practice; and
substantiaé measures to correct business practices and/or operations to minimize the

likelihood of recurrence.

28.  The guidelines contain recommendations for the minimum and
maximum level of discipline. The maximum discipline for any violation is revocation
and payment of the reasonable costs of investigation and prosecution. The guidelines

also list minimum recommendations for the following violation:

s For failure to comply with the regulations in violation of Business and

Professions Code section 9884.7, subdivision (a)(1), revocation, stayed,
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suspension, and three years' probation, with optional conditions 1, 2, 3b,

.and/or 3c.

¢ For failure to comply with the regulations in violation of Business and
Professions Code section 9884.7, subdivision (a)(6), revocation, stayed,
suspension, and two years’ probation, with optional conditions 1, 2, 3¢,

and/or 7,

¢ For failure to comply with the regulations in violation of Health and Safety
Code section 44072, subdivision {c), revocation, stayed, suspension, and two

years' probation, with optional conditions 1, 2, 3a, 3¢, and/or 7.
Costs of Investigation and Prosecution

30.  Business and Professions Code section 125.3, subdivisions (a), {b), and

{d), provide:

(a) Except as otherwise provided by law, in any order issued
in resolution of a disciplinary proceeding . .. the board may
request the administrative law judge to direct a licentiate
found to have committed a violation . . . of the licensing act
to pay a sum not to exceed the reasonable costs of the

investigation and enforcement of the case.

(b) In the case of a disciplined licentiate that is a
corporation or a partnership, the order may be made
against the licensed corporate entity or licensed

partnership.

...

26




{d) The administrative law judge shall make a proposed
finding of the amount of reasonable costs of investigation
and prosecution of the case when requested pursuant to

subdivision {a).

27.  In Zuckerman v. State Board of Chiropractic Examiners (2002) 29 Cal.4th
32, the California Supreme Court dealt with the issue of cost recovery, under a statute
similar to Business and Professions Code section 125.3, and noted that because a
licensee with limited financial resources might forego a hearing for fear that a board
might erroneously sustain the charges and order the licensee to reimburse costs,
discretion must be used to ensure that a licensee with a meritorious claim is not
deterred from exercising his or her right to a hearing. (/d. at p. 44.) The Court
determined that five factors should be considered when deciding whether a particular
licensee should be ordered to pay the reasonable costs of investigation and
prosecution under statutes like Business and Professions Code section 125.3: Whether
the licensee has been successful at hearing in having charges dismissed or reduced,
the licensee’s subjective good faith belief in the merits of his or her position, whether
the licensee raised a colorable challenge to the proposed discipline, the financial
ability of the licensee to pay, and whether the scope of the investigation was

appropriate in light of the alleged misconduct. (/b/d)

28.  After taking the Zuckerman factors into consideration, the investigation
and prosecution costs shall be reduced to $2,000. Respondent shall be permitted to

pay the costs according to a payment plan approved by the bureau.
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ORDER

1. The Smog Check Inspector License No. EO 638929 issued to Angel
Alonso Parra is revoked. However, the revocation is stayed, and Smog Check Inspector
License No. EO 638929 is placed on probation for two years on the terms and

conditions listed below,

2. The Automotive Repair Dealer Registration No. ARD 288993 issued to -
Angel Alonso aka Angel Alonso Parra dba Anaheim Smog is revoked. However, the
revocation is stayed, and Automotive Repair Dealer Registration No, ARD 288993 is

placed on probation for two years on the terms and conditions listed below.

3. The Smog Check, Test Only, Station License No. TC 288993 issued to
Angel Alonso aka Angel Alonso Parra dba Anaheim Smog is revoked. However, the
revocation is stayed, and Smog Check, Test Only, Station License No, TC 288993 is

placed on probation for two years on the following terms and conditions:
A, Obey All Laws

During the period of probation, respondent shall comply with all federal and
state statutes, regulations and rules governing all the bureau registrations and licenses

held by respondent,
B. Training Courses

Within 60 days of the effective date of the decision, respondent and his
employees shall attend a Write It Right presentation provided by a bureau

representative, at the location, date, and time determined by the bureau.
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Within 180 days of the effective date of a decision, Respondent shall submit to
bureau satisfactory evidence of completion of a laws and regulations training course

that meets the following requirements:

(1) The course shall be instructor-led, in a classroom or online setting, and shall
include instruction on registrant or licensee compliance with the laws and regulations

related to the following areas:
(A} Estimate Requirements
(B) Customer Authorization
(C) Invoice Requirements
(D) Accepted Trade Standards
(E) Sublet Repair
(F) Return of Parts
(G) Advertising Requirements
(H) Guarantees and Warranties
() Maintenance of Records

(2) The course shall include an examination to verify the Respondent can apply

the laws and regulations in daily automotive repair transactions.

(3) The course shall have a minimum of (8) eight hours of dedicated time to
instruction and examination, where examination time shall be between thirty (30)

minutes to an hour,
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{4) The course shall require a minimum score of 70 percent on the examination

to provide proof of completion.
C. Quarterly Reporting

During the period of probation, respondent shall report either by personal
appearance or in writing as determined by the bureau on a schedule set by the
bureau, but no more frequently than once each calendar quarter,-on the methods used
and success achieved in maintaining compliance with the terms and conditions of

probation.
D. Report Financial Interests

Respondent shall, within 30 days of the effective date of the decision and within
30 days from the date of any request by bureau during the period of probation, report
any financial interest which respondent or any partners, officers, or owners of any
respondent owned facility may have in any other business required to be registered

pursuant to Section 9884.6 of the Business and Professions Code.
E. Access to Examine Vehicles and Records

Respondent shall provide bureau representatives unrestricted access to examine
all vehicles (including parts) undergoing service, inspection, or repairs, up to and
including the point of completion. Respondents shall also provide bureau
representatives unrestricted access to all records pursuant to bureau laws and

regulations.
F. Tolling of Probation

If, during probation, respondent does business elsewhere or otherwise ceases to

do business in the jurisdiction of California, respondent shall notify bureau in writing
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within 10 days of the dates of departure and return, and of the dates of cessation and

resumption of business in California,

All provisions of probation other than cost reimbursement requirements,
restitution requirements, training requirements, and that respondent obey all laws,
shall be held in abeyance during any period of time of 30 days or more in which
respondent is not engaging in business within the jurisdiction of California. All
provisions of probation shall recommence on the effective date of resumption of
business in California. Any period of time of 30 days or more in which respondent is
not engaging in business within the jurisdiction of California shall not apply to the
reduction of this probationary period or to any period of actual suspension not
previously completed. Tolling is not available if business or work relevant to the
probationary license or registration is conducted or performed during the tolling

period.
G. Violation of Probation

If respondent violates or fails to comply with the terms and conditions of
probation in any respect, the Director, after giving notice and opportunity to be heard,
may set aside the stay order and carry out the disciplinary order provided in the
decision. Once respondent is served notice of bureau’s intent to set aside the stay, the
Director shall maintain jurisdiction, and the period of probation shall be extended until

final resolution of the matter. -
H. Maintain Valid License

Respondent shall, at all times while on probation, maintain a current and active
registration with bureau, including any period during which suspension or probation is

tolled. If respondent's registration is expired at the time the decision becomes
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effective, the registration must be renewed by respondent within 30 days of that date.
If respondent’s registration expires during a term of probation, by operation of law or
otherwise, then upon renewal of respondent’s registration, respondent shall be subject
to any and all terms and conditions of probation not previously satisfied. Failure to
maintain a current and active registration during the period of probation shall also

constitute a violation of probation.
L Cost Recovery

Respondent shall pay the "Bureau of Automotive Repair” $2,000 for the
reasonable costs of the investigation and prosecution of case No. 79/20-9348,
Respondent shall make such payment based on a payment schedule established by
the bureau. Any agreement for a scheduled paymént plan shall require leII payment to
be completed no later than six (6) months before probation terminates. Respondent
shall make payment by check or money order payable to the "Bureau of Automotive
Repair” and shall indicate on the check or money order that it is for cost recovery.
payment for case No. 79/20-9348. Any order for payment of cost recovery shall remain
in effect whether or not probation is tolled. Probation shall not terminate until full cost
recovery payment has been made. The bureau reserves the right to pursue any other
lawful measures in collecting on the costs ordered and past due, in addition to taking

action based upon the violation of probation.
J. Completion of Probation

Upon successful completion of probation, respondent’s affected registration
and/or license will be fully restored or issued without restriction, if respondent meets
all current requirements for registration or licensure and has paid all outstanding fees,

monetary penalties, or cost recovery owed to the bureau.
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K. License Surrender

Following the effective date of a decision that orders a stay of invalidation or
revocation, if respondent ceases business operations or is otherwise unable to satisfy
the terms and conditions of probation, respondent may request that the stay be
vacated. Such request shall be made in writing to the bureau. The Director and the
bureau Chief reserve the right to evaluate the Respondent'’s request and to exercise
discretion whether to grant the request or take any other action deemed appropriate
or reasonable under the circumstances. Upon formal granting of the request, the
Director will vacate the stay order and carry out the disciplinary order provided in the
decision. Respondent may not petition the Director for reinstatement of the
surrendered registration and/or license or apply for a new registration or license under
the jurisdiction of the bureau at any time before the date of the originally scheduled
completion of probation. If respondent applies to the bureau for a registration or
license at any time after that date, respondent must meet all current requirements for
registration or licensure and pay all outstanding fees or cost recovery owed to the

bureau and left outstanding at the time of surrender.
L. Supervision Requirements

Respondent shall not delegate his supervisory duties, as they relate to the
business activities relevant to the probationary registration, to another person during
the period of probation. Any persons employed by respondent to carry out such
business activities shall be directly supervised by respondent. In the event that a bona

fide medical condition arises during the period of probation, which temporarily

I

33




prevents respondent from exercising direct supervision over employees, notice and
medical substantiation of the condition shall be submitted to bureau within ten (10)

days of the medical affirmation of the condition.

DATE: June 13, 2022 Marion Vonthof

MARION J, VOMHOF
Administrative Law Judge

Office of Administrative Hearings
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