sTaA

nnnnnnnnnnnnnn

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

K/
0’0

0
0.0

R/
0.0

DEPARTMENT OF GONSUMER AFFAIRS

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS B A

Bureau of Automotive Repair

CONSUMER ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

The Consumer Assistance Program (CAP) is administered by the
Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR) and is designed to help improve

California’s air quality. CAP offers consumers up to $500 in financial
assistance towards certain emissions-related repairs. In addition,

CAP offers consumers $1,000 or $1,500 to retire a qualified vehicle.

Para obtener una solicitude n espafiol, lamenos a BAR a 866.272.9642.

Under the Repair Assistance option, vehicle owners who meet the following eligibility requirements may
receive up to five hundred dollars ($500) in emissions-related repairs performed at licensed Smog Check Test
and Repair stations holding valid STAR certification and operating under an agreement with BAR.

NOTE: Financial assistance is based on the availability of funds.

You must be the registered owner with title <>
issued in your name.

You must have a household income that is
less than or equal to two hundred twenty-five
percent (225%) of the federal poverty level, as <
published in the Federal Register by the

United States Department of Health and .
Human Services.

You must not have previously received
assistance for the same vehicle through CAP.

R/

The vehicle must not be undergoing a transfer <
of ownership, initial registration, or re-
registration in California.

The vehicle must not be registered to a
business, fleet, or non-profit organization.

The vehicle must have failed its “biennial” (every other
year) Smog Check inspection as required by the
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (aborted,
manual mode, and training mode tests do not qualify).

The vehicle must not have a tampered emissions
control system.

The vehicle must be currently registered with the DMV
with a valid, unexpired registration sticker OR have all
fees paid to the DMV and not have a registration that
has been expired more than 120 days.

The vehicle registration must not have lapsed* for
more than 120 days during the two consecutive years
preceding the current registration expiration date. *A
lapse is defined as the number of days between the
date the vehicle’s registration expires and the date the
registration sticker is issued by DMV for that renewal
year.

If approved, the applicant must pay the total cost of testing and diagnosing the emissions-related failure as co-
payment for participating in the Repair Assistance option. The co-payment shall be paid directly to the station
that performs the state subsidized emissions-related repair work under agreement with BAR.

Do not have emissions-related repairs performed on your vehicle until your application has been
approved.

The State does not have authority to reimburse consumers.

Questions? Please call 866.272.9642 or visit www.smogcheck.ca.gov.
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